Liking things

Like what you like, and keep on liking it as long as it appeals to you.

People on the Internet sometimes try to shame others into not liking something they like, like My Little Pony or pineapple pizza-and not always jokingly. I recently read a Tumblr post about people being shamed for their “bad” work. If that had happened to me when I began writing, I would have stopped writing, or at least given up for a while.

It’s hard to keep liking something when you’re bullied or sneered at for it. Even an offhand comment can get to you and lessen your enjoyment of, say, your favorite book.

But they don’t get to decide what you like. You do.

They may get to you for a while-believe me, I’ve experienced this when one person got tired of hearing about my favorite book-but eventually, I got to the point where I was like, “You know what? I like this, no matter what people say about it.” Now, depending on how many people were sneering and for how long, it may take a long time, but I promise, you’ll get back to being able to enjoy it.

Until you decide you don’t like it anymore of your own will, you get to like what you like.

You are not alone.

Love, Draconic Ally.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

