Amazing

Slight TW for mention of self-image issues.

If you tell yourself something often enough, you start to believe it. I know this from experience; when I was little, I managed to almost convince myself I was a dragon.

This is kind of what happens when you keep bashing on yourself. Over time, you start to believe you deserve it, and it becomes easy. The more you do it, the more you believe it. It becomes almost true to you.

It works the other way, too, though. If you tell yourself enough that you’re amazing, you’re beautiful, you’re perfect the way you are, you get to believing it. And the longer you do it, the easier it is to believe it.

I’m not saying it’s just that simple. There are days when you just can’t think of anything good about yourself, and days when you still don’t believe you’re amazing.

But try this. Every day, tell yourself “I am smart, I look good, I am worth it, people love me.” And whenever you remember to, think of some things you like about yourself. Write them down for when you can’t remember. Teach yourself to love yourself.

It’s not a steady up-and-up path by far. You will have bad days, no question about it. But I promise it gets better. It always gets better.

You are not alone.

Love, Draconic Ally

One thought on “Amazing

Add yours

  1. This is so important and true. About two months ago, I had a massive struggle with self-image and was very hard on nyself about so many things but there was one person that wouldn’t let me continue that way. She always reminded me that I was amazing and strong and beautiful, even when I had trouble believing it. I started to write it on my arms and say it to myself, because she asked me to, and over time it has become easier. It is so important to speak positivity into your life. It has improved how I view myself so mu h.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

