I’m Not Through The Night.

Trigger Warning: Mention of Eating Disorders

The other night, I was listening to Pandora Radio and a song came up that caught my attention. Courage by Superchick. If you read my last post, you will know that music means a lot to me. Songs, especially ones with powerful messages, just resonate with me so much and they often express how I feel when I don’t know what to say.

This particular song deals with eating disorders and self-image. While I do not personally struggle with these things, I feel for all those who do. Even so, the words struck a chord in my heart.

I often listen to songs without really listening to the messages they are declaring, but I am glad I listened to this one. The message is the one that we are saying: you are not alone.

The words of the bridge are so true. “You should know you’re not on your own/ These secrets are walls that keep us alone”.

I know what it is like to keep things hidden from people. To lie to them to keep them from worrying. To say I’m good or fine when they ask how you are, even when inside you want to run out of the room, or crawl up into a ball and have a good cry. But I want you to know that there are many of us in this blogging community, including me, that want to tell you that you’re not alone. That whatever you are going through, we are here for you, if you need someone to talk to. Even though we are anonymous voices on the other side of a computer, know there is someone out there who stands by you, whatever you are going through.

Lately, I have been dealing with a roller coaster of emotions and negative thoughts. And at times, the world seems hopeless and empty and the pain doesn’t seem worth it. But those lies that I tell myself when I am at my darkest, are just that: lies. There is still hope in this world, there is still life and goodness and happiness. And I have to continuously remind myself of that fact. Like the song says, I’m not through the night, but I will be some day. And when that day comes, I will look back and be so happy that I stuck around to see it through. I am not alone in this fight, and you are not either. Together we will make it through another day.

I will leave off with the lyrics from “Courage”:

“I don’t know the first time I felt unbeautiful

The day I chose not to eat

What I do know is how I’ve changed my life forever

I know I should know better

There are days when I’m OK

And for a moment, for a moment I find hope

But there are days when I’m not OK

And I need your help

So I’m letting go

I need you to know

I’m not through the night

Some days I’m still fighting to walk towards the light

I need you to know

That we’ll be OK

Together we can make it through another day”

 

Have courage this week, beautiful. You are strong. You will be okay.

Love, Moondancer.

One thought on “I’m Not Through The Night.

Add yours

  1. I’ve never heard this song before, but those words resonate with me, too. I feel like so many songs speak of the struggle and the hard times being done and over with, being in the past, and lately I have felt the question of What about when it’s not in the past? What about when it’s not over yet and I’m still fighting my way through the thick of it in the present? So I appreciate the words of this song, that I’m not through the night but we’ll be okay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

