Feel the Music in your Soul

Feel the Music in Your Soul

I sit down at the piano, my foot moving to the pedal, my fingers placed on top of the keys. The keys are cold but familiar as I play the first note. My eyes flick back and forth between the keys and the music I am reading, note after note being hit. My fingers run on autopilot. I do not have to think anymore. I just see the notes on the page and they translate into sound. Beautiful sound.

I pick up my viola, my fingers adjusting the shoulder rest. I brush my hair out of the way and push it up under my chin, settling it into its natural position in my arms. I pick up my bow, pulling it across the strings, the metal vibrating under my fingers as sound rings out.

I sit at my desk, my laptop in front of me, my headphones over my ears. Music pumps into my head, blocking out all other sound, all other thoughts. I close my eyes and focus only on the music washing over me.

I love music. Whether it be classical or pop, loud or soft, emotional, angsty, upbeat… I listen to pretty much everything. When the world overwhelms me, I turn to music, whether it be listening to it or creating it. I get lost in the sound. The music takes me away.

If you were to engage me in a conversation about music, I could talk for hours. About the songs I love, the songs that mean something to me, the songs that bring back memories, my favourite genre, the different instruments, the different sounds… how the viola feels in my arms as it vibrates, how you can put your whole body into it when you move the bow, the way all the notes come together to create beautiful sounds you didn’t even know where possible until you heard them… Don’t even get me started on the orchestra music we are playing at the moment…

If you could see me while I had that conversation, I would be waving my arms around, gesturing widely, as I got excited about the topic. Music is something I am deeply passionate about, which is why I wanted to share it with you today.

It has honestly gotten me through so much in my life. When I was sad or anxious, I would pick up my viola or sit down at the piano or just put on my headphones and turn the music up real loud.

It has proven benefits too. Music helps reduce anxiety, as well as helps the mind and body cope with stress. I always listen to it when I study. Even though some people say it distracts them, it helps me to focus. It blocks out the world around me and lets me concentrate on the task at hand.

Music has been described as the strongest form of magic, taking you to places that nothing else can, healing scars, and connecting hearts and souls. Ray Charles once said, “Music to me is like breathing- I don’t get tired of breathing, I don’t get tired of music”. That is exactly how I feel.

Music also has an uncanny ability to give you exactly what you need in the moment. If you are happy and excited for life, there is a song for you. If you are in love, there is a song for you. If you are sad, or heartbroken, or lonely, there is a song for you. If you have trouble getting going in the mornings, there is a song that will give you energy. If you want to scream or shout, there is a song for you. Filled with teenage angst? There’ll be one that expresses that as well. Many people have different playlists set up for different moods. I know I have certain songs that I go to when I am feeling down. Some of my favourite songs that remind me that everything will be okay and help me to get moving are “The Middle” by Jimmy Eats World, “You’re Gonna Be Okay” by Bethel, “Move (Keep Walkin’) by TobyMac, and “Invincible” by Kelly Clarkson. I’m sure if I thought about it for longer there would be more.

Music is a universal language that anyone can hear and understand. Someone once said that if a person wanted to know how they were feeling, they just needed to ask what song they were listening too. This is so true for me, and I know it is for many other people too.

Being able to create music is honestly such a gift. I completely recommend having a go at learning an instrument if you can. Otherwise, listening to music is wonderful too, as I have tried to bring across in this post.

Music is one of my coping mechanisms when things get tough. Music is like an old friend that is there whenever I need it to be. It fills empty silences and can distract me from negative thoughts. Whenever I need to escape from the thoughts in my head, I just plug in my music and close my eyes, the music washing away the dirt from my soul.

Music is something I love with a passion and I hope that if you are not already in love with it, you may appreciate the magic it can work.

Love, Moondancer.

P.S. Do you have a favourite song you always turn to when you need cheering up? Or a favourite band? What is something you love? Something that you turn to as well as, or instead of, using music? I would love to hear about it.

One thought on “Feel the Music in your Soul

Add yours

  1. I am so glad that you have this passion to accompany you through life. Sometimes, when I am anxious and sad and overwhelmed, sitting down at the piano and immersing myself helps sweep away everything so I can focus solely on making beauty. There are so many songs I run to when I’m sad, or happy, or when I feel like panicking. Music helps me write, it helps me focus, it helps me get through long days and long drives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

