Self-care – Part II

Self-care is not a one time deal. It’s a set of actions you should be doing regularly, to care for yourself both mentally, physically and emotionally. Self-care isn’t limited to particular actions, or a particular timetable and is not set in stone. It is merely doing things to soothe your soul and make you feel good, so that during those bad, stressful days you can relax, and take time to let yourself breathe.

The best way to start is to incorporate small self-care habits to your everyday lifestyle. Little things that cost cheap and aren’t extremely time-consuming. As I promised in my previous blog “Self-care Part I”, I’ve compiled a list below which you are free to choose from if you wish. I’d love for you to also add to the list in the comment section below!

  1. Cloud watching: Lie down, relax and watch the sky. Not only would you relax, you’d also soak in some much needed Vitamin D from the sun. Just remember to put on sunscreen first!
  2. Meditate: Now you can either look into this more deeply, or do what I do which is practice deep breathing. Breathing deeply* in and out for just a few minutes really makes me feel relaxed and I’m often able to focus better on my work afterwards. [*Breathe into your abdomen, and let the air puff out your stomach and chest.]
  3. Take a new route to work, college, university, school: Sometimes even a small thing such as a change in routine can lift up your mood!
  4. Practice gratitude: Get a jar, and on a small slip of paper write down one thing you are grateful for. After a year is up, you can reread what you’ve written and (hopefully) you’d feel thankful about the blessings you have in life. I try to be grateful everyday because in my religion, there is a verse in the Qur’an that says, “Be grateful, and I will give you more,” and we believe that the more you practice gratitude the more blessing you will have, no matter how big or small.
  5. Be disconnected for an hour: Put your phone on airplane mode and disconnect yourself from social media. For that hour choose to immerse yourself in an activity that makes you happy, and enjoy yourself without the constant alerts and notifications from social media apps.
  6. Five minutes of play/dance: Schedule five minutes several times a day where you can either let loose with some dance moves or play around with something for a bit and just basically goof off and have fun.
  7. Write out your thought: Write for 15 minutes on something that bothers you. Then let it go as you rip or bin the paper.
  8. Treat your skin: Wear something that feels great against your skin. It sounds weird but I love wearing this really soft sweater I have. It just just feels nice and puts me in a good mood.
  9. Make a small positive change to your diet: Believe me when I say that I understand the struggles of constantly trying to eat healthy and feeling sad when you just can’t commit. Baby steps are important. Just incorporating something healthy into your diet can make you feel better, and motivated even if it’s as small as consuming more water every day.
  10. Stroke a pet: If you don’t have one, ask a friend who does!
  11. Peppermint: Whenever I smell peppermint, I don’t know why but it makes me feel happy. Out of curiosity I looked it up and it’s actually a thing. The scent of peppermint is known to make people’s moods improve. Peppermint tea is also amazing for all those tea lovers out there. It improves digestion, reduces pain, eliminate inflammation, relax the body and mind, cure bad breath, aids in weight loss and boosts the immune system.
  12. Take a quick nap: Sometimes taking a 10-20 minute naps leaves me feeling refreshed and ready for action.
  13. Beauty scavenger hunt: I got this tip online and basically every day on your usual commute to work, college, university, school, etc, you try to pick out five things you think are beautiful. What I mean by beautiful is whatever you consider beautiful. It doesn’t necessarily have to be limited to looks, but also actions, sounds, smells, the list goes on!
  14. Get positive feedback: Ask three good friends to tell you what they love about you.
  15. Reflection: Sometimes it’s important to reflect on yourself and think about your goals and decide whether you need to make adjustments to achieve them better or not. One thing I like to reflect upon is my goal of improving myself and being a better person. Every so often I like to ask myself, “Are you a better person than you were last week?” And if the answer is ‘No’, I think of ways to fix this.
  16. Take a home spa: Have a long bath or shower, sit around in your bathrobe, and do something that makes you happy.
  17. Mirror compliments: Every time you look into your bathroom mirror, vanity mirror, etc, smile and give yourself a compliment.
  18. Get out of your comfort zone: Even if it’s something small such as talking to someone at the bus stop.

 

These are just a few of my tips, I always like to switch up my self-care habits instead of limiting myself to just a few. I’m someone who gets bored easily! Again, I’d love to hear some of your self-care habits so feel free to drop some down below in the comments section!

Love,

Mohare Dalamira

 

5 thoughts on “Self-care – Part II

Add yours

    1. You’re welcome darling! Ooh yes! I should have added that in! Because I looveee art, especially craft and DIY projects.
      *feels concerned that she didn’t add one of her favourite hobbies on the list*
      What form of art is your favourite/most soothing Neverland? 🙂

      Like

  1. Ooh, yes, I love these! I think the ones I’m best at so far are the writing down my thoughts and the reflection, since I’m already so inclined to analyze all my thoughts and actions. Other ways I do self care (though I haven’t really thought of it as such until now) is listening to my favorite music, let it help me unwind. That and generally trying to think more positively. I have something of a tendency to be hypercritical of myself and others, so actively trying to think nice things about myself and others to combat my more critical side.

    For the other things you listed, I think I’ll probably try ideas of cloud watching, meditation, and unplugging. I feel like those three coincide quite nicely, so I might do a combination of them sometime. That unplugging one, though… That’ll be hard. I’m probably a bit addicted to my technology. :p

    I also really liked number four, “Practice gratitude.” I feel like that’s something most people, myself included, don’t do anywhere near enough. It’s so easy to get caught up in all the negative things in life that we lose sight of the good things in life. Also, your mentioning a verse from the Qur’an made me smile a bit, because I enjoy watching the faith-related things you like on Facebook and comparing them to my own faith. While there are certainly plenty of differences, I do find the many similarities interesting, such as this emphasis on gratitude and thankfulness. 🙂

    Like

    1. Man, I also have a tendency to by hyper-critical, and sometimes it can be a struggle to constantly be positive but I try my best anyways. Yeah sometimes we actually do practice self-care without actually realising it but yes the power of the mind and the power of positive thinking is more powerful than people think (in my opinion anyway). Yes! Give them a shot, I’m still searching online for new things to try out, such as travelling to distant scenic areas for a mental health day of relaxing, unplugging and writing (and eating too obviously!).
      Who doesn’t have a problem unplugging from technology 😝
      Omg yes! It’s something I always try to practice but sometimes I forget to. I’ve only recently started trying to do it more regularly and my moods have definitely improved/it’s been easier to get myself out of a funk. Oh thank you! Yes, I’ve noticed a few similarities too between our two faiths, which I also find interesting. I love learning about different faiths/cultures, you never know what you can learn from them. Also sorry if my reply seems a bit rambling, it’s 5.50am and I’ve only just planned to have my “bedtime” now…haha

      Like

  2. These are all great. There’s just something so special about cloud watching. I’ve also found that setting aside an hour a day to sit and read (when I can), without letting myself get distracted by all the little things I have to do, helps marvelously. So does journaling, cleaning house, and treating myself to expensive coffee.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

