The beauty of Autumn

♫ Smile tho’ your heart is aching

Smile even tho’ it’s breaking

When there are clouds in the sky

You’ll get by

If you smile

Thro’ your fear and sorrow

Smile and maybe tomorrow

You’ll see the sun come shining thro’ for you

Light up your face with gladness

Hide ev’ry trace of sadness

Altho’ a tear may be ever so near

That’s the time

You must keep on trying

Smile, what’s the use of crying

You’ll find that life is still worth-while

If you just smile ♫

This song by Nat King Cole played on my phone as I was listening to music this afternoon, thinking about what I should post this week.

This afternoon, I was sitting at my desk, trying to work on an essay that is due in a few days, but I was getting nowhere. I felt frustrated and fidgety and couldn’t sit still. The room felt too small, the chair was uncomfortable and the air felt too thick and warm. I needed to get out, so I stood up, went to my wardrobe and grabbed my sneakers and my iPod and alerted my flatmate that I was going out for a run. I needed fresh air.

I ran down the pavement, no goal in mind, my music blasting in my ears.

It’s Autumn in my part of the world, and it has to be my favourite season. The city in which I live has trees down all the streets and the autumn leaves fall in large quantities and the colours that the leaves turn are stunning. I adore the reds and yellows and oranges and browns. Soon all the trees will be bare, but not yet.

As I ran, the footpath was covered in leaves, the wonderful kind that crunch beautifully under your foot. Such a little thing filled me with happiness- the crunching of a fallen leaf.

I slowed down to a walk and went along the footpath, jumping and trying to stomp on the individual leaves as I walked. Crunch, crunch, crunch. I must have looked so silly and childish but in that moment, I didn’t care.

There were a hundred things waiting for me to finish at home, responsibilities to take care of, but out on the street, with beautiful leaves falling down around me, I only had to focus on that.

A warmth was in the wind, and as the sun went down, the colours that spread across the sky were stunning too. I stopped at the playground just down the road from my house, and since no one was there, I went on the swing, something I hadn’t done in the longest time. I closed my eyes as I swung and I could have been flying.

Finally, I stopped the swing and pulled myself away. I walked back to my house, remembering that there were things to finish.

Then that song came on, reminding me to smile

♫Altho’ a tear may be ever so near/That’s the time/You must keep on trying/Smile, what’s the use of crying/You’ll find that life is still worth-while/If you just smile♫

On my run this afternoon, I realised that there were so many good things in the world. Small moments of happiness that we need to grasp a hold of.

Smile, my friend, even if it is hard. Take a break or sit in the sunshine, or find your equivalent of the crunchy autumn leaf. Find something that makes you happy, and cherish that moment. Carry that moment of happiness with you, and know that even in your darkest moment, there is good in the world, there is colour and wonder and beauty. There is light at the end of the tunnel, my friend.

Love, Moondancer.

One thought on “The beauty of Autumn

Add yours

  1. There is something truly freeing about crunching fallen leaves. It’s easy to forget that small, simple joys like that exist just within reach, that all I have to do is go out and find them. Thank you for the reminder. I’m glad you were able to find these small bits of joy for yourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

