One day

TW for mention and extensive description of depression.

~

I’m learning to drive. It’s scary. I know that I am in a big vehicle with the potential to hurt people if I do something wrong. I’ve got a slight phobia of being next to huge trucks. But I know that one day, I’ll be able to drive next to semis and on residential streets without freaking out. Right now, though, I’m still scared.

Depression is like that. You’re sad and numb and empty, and sometimes angry, and it feels like that’s all you’ll ever feel again. And it’s a huge semi truck. It’s blocking out your vision. It’s looming and massive. But you’ll pass the truck, and while it may still be there (depending on the person), it won’t be quite as bad.

I’m not ready to drive alone and on highways yet. So I’m being taught. I have someone to help in the car the entire time. I’m taking it a bit at a time, learning bits at a time, instead of trying to do it all at once. And I know that I’ll be able to drive confidently soon.

Find someone you really trust to stay by your side-a therapist, a friend, a family member-and take it a bit at a time. Learn what works for you. Don’t feel like you have to rush it. And know that it’ll get better. It will get better.

Love, Draconic Ally.

One thought on “One day

Add yours

  1. I remember when I was learning how to drive too. I thought I would never be able to drive by myself in the residential section in our small town. Now that I’ve had time to grow and learn more, I live in a bigger city area, and I drive without nerves. It does get better with time, you’re right. I hope the same rule applies to all the other issues in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

