The Song I Would Sing To You

“Friend Please” by Twenty One Pilots

I feel for you but when did you believe you were alone
You say that spiders crawled inside and made themselves a home
Where light once was

Petrified of who you are and who you have become
You will hide from everyone, denying you need someone
To exterminate your bones

Friend, please remove your hands from
Over your eyes for me
I know you want to leave but
Friend, please don’t take your life away from me

Living like a ghost you walk by everyone you know
You say that you’re fine but you have lost your sway and glow
So I stopped by to let you know

Friend, please remove your hands from
Over your eyes for me
I know you want to leave but
Friend, please don’t take your life away from me

Would you let me know your plans tonight
‘Cause I just won’t let go ’til we both see the light
And I have nothing else left to say
But I will listen to you all day, yes I will

Friend, please remove your hands from
Over your eyes for me
I know you want to leave but
Friend, please don’t take your life away from me

|-/

Out of all the Twenty One Pilots songs I love, “Friend Please” is one of my favorites and has been for some time.  It is so full of emotion, so full of blatant honesty.  The first time I heard it, I immediately thought of one of my sister’s characters.  But since that first listen, it has gained still more meaning for me.

It is the song I wish I had heard when I was caught in the darkness of my mind.  When I was caught in its labyrinthine ways, caught on paths so dark with walls so high they blocked out the sun.  When all I could see and feel was the weight of my pain and insecurities.  When I could not see the hope staring me in the face.

It is the song I would sing to my friends.  To all of you who battle within your minds to not succumb to depression, anxiety, suicidal thoughts, or whatever you may be struggling with.  To you who cannot see the hope so near at hand.  To you who can see it and are holding on until it becomes your reality.

You are not alone, friends.  Stay alive.

Love,

Beautiful Blackwater.

*Header image courtesy of FullHDPictures.
2 thoughts on “The Song I Would Sing To You

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

