Write Something

Hello, in my effort to learn how to control my anxiety (well, as much as one can), I’ve been trying different crafts and hobbies. Here are a few that have helped me some.

 

Needle felting. Needle felting can be really relaxing. It’s not incredibly hard, especially if you buy a kit with good directions. It is also a craft that you can see fast results with. Here is a link to my favorite YouTube channel for needle felting. I learned so much from this channel. I’m still not great at it but I’m improving.

Writing/blogging. This one I have a love/hate relationship with. On one hand, it is really helpful to get all of my thoughts out or to be able to jump in to the world of one of my characters, but on the other hand it tends to add stress to my life. Especially blogging, worrying about deadlines, stats, making good content, etc. It can all be a bit much at times. When it is, I try to give myself a break and pick it back up in a week or so.

Baking. The only down side to baking is that it creates dirty dishes. I love to turn on sort of loud music and dance around the kitchen while I bake. A bonus to this one is that you can share what you make with friends and family. Monday I took a cake to the school where I work and it made my day so much better to see the joy I was bringing to other people. It made everyone’s “first Monday after spring break” better.

Slime, dough, kinetic sands, etc. I don’t make these very often but yesterday I tried a new recipe for a soft play dough type thing. It was super easy and I’m going to share it with you. It’s only two ingredients and it’s really relaxing to squish and play with. All you need is cornstarch and hand lotion (I used some stress relief scented lotion from Bath and Body Works). There aren’t really measurements for this, you just put some of each in a bowl and mix them together. I started with two tablespoons of cornstarch and then added lotion in a little at a time until it started sticking together. If it’s too dry add lotion, too wet add cornstarch. After it resembles a ball and is sort of sticky; knead it to bring it fully together then store in an air tight tub. You can add some food coloring to color it if you want. Also, if you have essential oils you could use unscented lotion and then lavender, stress away, or whatever oil you like.

Knitting. To be honest, I don’t know how to knit yet. It is taking me way longer to learn than I expected, but I’m having fun learning and doing something new. My sister used to knit and she made the cutest things. One of the things that I really want to learn is how to knit baby hats, booties, and blankets. My sister made them and then donated them to one of the hospitals that accepted handmade baby things.

 

I think the hardest part for me with any hobby, is taking the time to do them. It can be so hard to turn off Netflix and do something productive but when I do I feel better. Honestly, just doing something, anything helps me a lot. Even if the end result is pointless, worthless, and just not good at all, I still did something and that is worth something.

I hope that one of these things will help you. If you already have a hobby that helps you to relax what is it?

Love,

Peace Will Win

One thought on “Write Something

Add yours

  1. These are all great suggestions. Blogging can get stressful for me, because life sneaks up on me when I’m not paying attention. But I’ve found the best thing for me sometimes is binding books while watching Netflix.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

