dark chocolate, starry skies, & brand-new notebooks // a snippet of me

Trigger warning: Brief mentions of anxiety, social anxiety, panic attacks, and abuse.

I was quietly humming the tune of My Favorite Things from the Sound of Music when I typed up that title. It’s a bit lengthy, yes, but I feel that it does a good job of getting my message across.

this is me.

And on that note… Hello, everybody! It’s so lovely to meet you all through my first post. I really had the urge to say, “my name is…” but of course that wouldn’t work here, because it would feel so wrong to say, “my name is priceless tree dweller.” It works quite nicely as a pen name and it does have some stories behind it. All that said, I’ll be known to you lovely people as priceless tree dweller.

why this particular name?

I’m so glad you asked. The name priceless tree dweller sort of came to me when we were all asked to come up with what we wanted to be called. I have a story, like everyone, and that story has had some bumpy parts to it. The name is initially based off of 3 things.

Firstly, my two favorite songs. I’ve grown up on twenty one pilots since about age 11. The first song that I heard remains to be my favorite. Trees. I don’t remember what I was doing when I first listened to it, but I immediately fell in love with it. As I developed and grew, I found myself dealing with multiple different forms of anxiety. ‘Normal’ anxiety, social anxiety, and panic attacks. I honestly believe that when he wrote this song, Tyler Joseph, was writing about social anxiety. I’m not going to dive in deep with my struggle with anxiety in this post, simply because that’s not what this post is about. But I can honestly say that this song has always given me a new perspective on anxiety and the people around me. I highly suggest you go and give it a listen ♥ The second song that this title encompasses is Priceless by For King & Country. During the past few years and quite recently especially, the lyrics have really spoken to my heart. Just the reminder of being priceless to God playing in my ears over and over again has helped quite a lot. This has been especially helpful during times when I’ve been mistreated by other people. Emotional abuse and manipulation aren’t easy things to work through, but when you’re being reminded that every wrong has been made right and that you are priceless, it makes things a little less painful. Again, I definitely recommend you to go and give it a listen ♥

Secondly, my obsession with sitting in trees. Seriously, it’s a problem. If I could live in the treetops, I probably would. I love sitting above the world and feeling the sun on my face and the wind in my hair. My thoughts tend to clear when I’m suspended in the steady arms of a tree. It may sound weird, but it’s true for me.

And lastly, the word dwell. This word means a lot to me. I’m not sure why exactly, but it gives off the atmosphere of peace. Life can get pretty crazy and sometimes I forget the meaning of this word.

So, before I go… There’s one more thing that I want to talk about.

why am I here?

When this little band of pen-wielding soldiers joined together, they presented me with an idea that I had never thought was possible before. I can use my stories and experiences to help others. The pain will have been worth it. I don’t believe in random chance. I don’t believe that things happen for no reason. Everything happens for a reason. And if I can sit here and pour my heart out to somebody who is going through the same thing that I went through and it helps… then what the heck, I’m going to do it. I want everyone, no matter who they are or what they’re going through, to know that they are priceless and that they are not alone.

You are priceless.

Never ever forget that.

Love,

Priceless Tree Dweller

9 thoughts on “dark chocolate, starry skies, & brand-new notebooks // a snippet of me

Add yours

  1. Precious, your words move me. Past abuse and present anorexia cloud my mind, and I forget that it’s possible to be priceless–not just possible, but actual. I agree that there is always a reason, that pain is always worth it (if I didn’t believe that, then I wouldn’t be alive). It’s so good to have you with us.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Ossuary ❤ I agree, it's very difficult most of the time. When fears, failures, and even the concept of succeeding are waging through my head, the simple truths of God's Word find themselves lost in everything else. The pain is always worth it, no matter how much it costs. Life is worth living and we are here for a reason. ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Priceless, the way you chose your pen name is beautiful. ❤ For a little while, I was considering using a Twenty One Pilots song to choose my pen name (It would've been "Addict With A Pen"), but I ended up picking mine from one of my favorite books instead. 🙂 I love how much art shapes us and can even drive how we choose our new names. In a way, they help define who we are, even though it's us that determines what they mean to us.

    Welcome to our "band of pen-wielding soldiers," Priceless. I am so very thankful to have you with us. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Aright well, full disclosure here, my dyslexia is so bad that I only *just* realized that your name is Priceless Tree Dweller and not Princess Tree Dweller. I didn’t even catch it until I finished your post. So in my mind you are Princess Tree Dweller, though you are Priceless too.
    Just thought I’d share that since I was left sitting here, laughing, because I have been misreading your name from the moment I saw it the first time.

    Anyway…

    I love the story behind your name, thank you for sharing. And also thank you for joining us. I adore your sentiment about everything happening for a reason.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

