Body in Grave

Awkward child, with knobby knees, you were awkward child, self.

Too much space, they said you took up too much space. Not only with their mouths, they said, they told you with their eyes, they said, they told you with their shaken heads. Said you spoke too loud. Didn’t teach you to speak soft. Their neglect a bad scent strangers smelled on you. You were a bad sight, dragging tattered shame around like it was your blankey.

You didn’t know, you say, you didn’t know what they saw wrong with you. You couldn’t see the gap between you, couldn’t smell the smell. Your normal was the realization that you must have been—musthavebeen—less, born defective though you couldn’t find the parts that didn’t fit together right.

Books taught you how to think. No one taught you how to be human. Small child, naive child, you didn’t see the missing skill. Children like cannibals, like wolves, caught your weakness, came for blood. You were never children, only child, stuck inside skull walls, grasping shredded comfort in brain space.

It’s safe now.

Come out now.

You’re almost grown, you’re nearly there. Find refuge, find sunlight, find trees and open spaces. Repaint your head cave and remove the trash. Clean out your closet and make skeleton art. Bruised child, find solace.

Time ticks, counting years, but it gets better, someday, one day.

You’ve been buried, body in grave. Be exhumed.

I tell you, rib cage to rib cage, it can be done.

 

Love,

Ossuary

9 thoughts on “Body in Grave

Add yours

  1. I had to read this four times before I felt like I understood your masterfully crafted words.
    My honest first thought was, “Well, this human must be fun at parties.”
    I’m sorry if I don’t have much to say in response because you left me magically speechless. I can’t wait to see what else you weave with your otherworldly words.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh my, I don’t know what to say. I’m touched. (And fun at parties, promise. :P)

      There is absolutely no need to apologize. I’m moved that I could leave anyone speechless. I’m so excited that you’re eager to read my future posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ossuary, your writing is so hauntingly beautiful, so heartfelt. If I’ve ever encountered a style quite like yours, I can’t place it. I can only imagine that, even as you write these words to your readers, you also speak them to yourself. So I’ll join your voice: Come into the light, Ossuary. Learn to breathe again. Stand here with us and know that you are loved. Whatever pains may come your way as you relearn what it means to live and breathe, we’ll stand here beside you. You are not alone. You never were, even though it may not feel like it. And now more than ever, that statement is true. We’re in this with you. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

